Pokémon card scanner apps: how to compare them
The short answer
There is no single best app for everyone: the right choice depends on the scan limit, your cards' language, offline use and binder scanning. For a big pile, first compare what the free plan actually allows, because several apps keep unlimited scanning for a subscription. FastScan TCG, which we make and which is not out yet, will be free with no scan limit. Then test on 20 cards you know.
Let’s be clear: FastScan TCG is our app, and we can’t be the referee. We haven’t tested the other apps under comparable conditions, and our own app isn’t out yet. Rather than a ranking nobody could check, here is what each publisher states, as read on 4 November 2026, and a way to form your own view.
The questions that really matter
Before you look at a feature list, ask yourself five questions:
- How many cards do you need to scan? For a few cards, almost anything works. For several thousand, the scan limit decides everything.
- What language are your cards in? An app built for the US market may know your French cards poorly (more on this).
- Are your cards loose or in a binder? Whole-page scanning saves time, if it is available (more on this).
- Do you sometimes scan with no signal? At a convention or in a basement, it is essential (more on this).
- Does the variant matter to you? Reverse or not is a hard point for every app (more on this).
Price and scan limit
These figures come from the publishers’ pages. Dollar prices are from the US store and can vary by country.
| App | Free scan limit | Price | Platforms |
|---|---|---|---|
| FastScan TCG (ours, not out yet) | None | Free | iPhone |
| PokéCardex | Unlimited scanner kept for Plus | Free, Plus at €4.99/month or €49.99/year | iPhone, iPad |
| Eyevo | 10 free photo identifications, then Pro | Free, Pro plan | iPhone, iPad, Android |
| DittoDex | Unlimited scanning kept for Pro | Free, Pro at $5.99/month or $34.99/year | iPhone, iPad |
| Collectr | No figure stated | Free, Pro at $7.99/month or $59.99/year | iOS, Android, web |
| Pokex | Not stated | Free, Premium at $4.99 or $29.99 | iPhone |
| Pooka | Not stated | Free, Shiny at $3.99/month or $24.99/year | iPhone, iPad |
| MyDex | Not stated | Free with in-app purchases | iPhone, iPad |
| TCGplayer | Not stated | Free | iOS, Android |
Scanning, languages and variants
These columns repeat what publishers state. “Not stated” means we didn’t find it on the pages we read, not that the feature doesn’t exist.
| App | Offline | French cards | Binder page | Variant |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FastScan TCG | Recognition on the phone | Yes, separate from English | Yes, free | Picked by hand |
| PokéCardex | Stated | Highlighted | Scan into a binder, whole page not stated | Tracked, method not stated |
| Eyevo | After initial download | Yes, among 8 languages | Cards one after another, up to 5 single-card photos | Picked by hand |
| DittoDex | Not stated | Not listed | 9-pocket page, Pro plan | Recognition stated |
| Collectr | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Recognition stated |
| Pokex | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Automatic recognition stated |
| Pooka | Not stated | Not listed | 9-card page, Shiny plan | Marked by hand |
| MyDex | Not stated | Matched to English equivalents | Not stated | Picked during the scan |
| TCGplayer | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
A few points of substance:
- Collectr covers several card games and is aimed at people tracking a whole collection.
- TCGplayer is tied to its marketplace: the publisher’s announcement highlights TCGplayer Market Price and importing to the Seller Portal.
- DittoDex states over 70,000 cards and products, in English, Japanese and Simplified Chinese.
- PokéCardex states over 24,000 cards in over 240 sets, plus others for Japanese and Chinese.
- FastScan TCG has 21,440 cards in its catalogue, in French and English. It doesn’t cover Japanese or other games, and has no export yet.
The 20-card test
Whatever the tool, twenty cards you know will tell you more than any listing. Pick:
- 5 easy recent cards;
- 5 cards in your language, especially if it isn’t English;
- 4 reverse holos and holos;
- 3 old cards;
- 3 cards with a reprint sharing the same artwork.
For each one, note four things: the right card first, the right set, the right language, the right variant. Above all, count the silent errors: a wrong card saved with no question asked is worse than an unrecognised card, because you will never find it again.
Run the test a second time in airplane mode if offline use matters to you. And count how many scans you have left at the end.
What we can say about FastScan TCG
- Free, with no scan limit.
- iPhone only, and not available yet: it is coming soon to the App Store.
- Recognition runs on the phone. The app doesn’t send your photos.
- French and English, treated as separate cards.
- Three modes: continuous, manual and binder.
- No reverse holo detection to date.
Our figures and their limits are on the method page. If you spot a mistake about another app, write to us and we will correct it.
Frequently asked questions
Which Pokémon card scanner app is free?
Several are free to install but limit scanning or keep features for a paid plan. According to its App Store listing, TCGplayer is free without stating a limit. FastScan TCG will be free with no scan limit, but it isn't on the App Store yet.
Which app recognises French Pokémon cards?
Eyevo lists French among its card languages. PokéCardex highlights its French scans. FastScan TCG covers French and English. DittoDex and Pooka don't list French among the card languages they state.
Which app works without internet?
PokéCardex states it works offline, Eyevo says it does after the initial download, and FastScan TCG recognises cards on the phone. The other listings we read don't say. Test it in airplane mode.
Is this comparison independent?
No. FastScan TCG is our app. We tested none of these apps, and these tables only repeat what their publishers state. That is why there is no ranking.